The Alexander Dickson House, a late-18th century Quaker-plan house, houses the Hillsborough Visitors Center and is home to the Alliance for Historic Hillsborough. It was moved from its original location (1 mile southeast of Hillsborough) to its present location in the heart of the historic district. The site also includes an office used by Confederate Gen. Joseph E. Johnston in April 1865 and an 18th and 19th century medicinal and herbal garden. The Visitors Center provides information on local attractions, shopping and dining information, events, and help for people who have relocated to the Hillsborough area. Complimentary brochures, guides, and maps are available, as well as a short film designed to give visitors an introduction to Hillsborough's fascinating history.
- Description: Open daily 10:00 am - 4:00 pm
- Parking Information: Street parking (free)
- Gift Shop:
- Restrooms On-site:
- Admission Information: Free